Section Officers

Our local section is volunteer-run and we are always looking for individuals who wish to get involved. It is a great way to learn more about this area’s design community and collaborate with professionals who are interested in their profession. If you would like to become more actively involved, feel free to contact our section president or any of the officers.

Established in 1976, our section has approximately 100 active members that reside in the area of North Carolina from the Research Triangle (Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill) to the coast. Our membership includes a diverse group of professionals including lighting designers, architects, engineers, manufacturers, interior designers, electrical contractors, facility managers, and salespersons, just to name a few. Please view our program calendar for upcoming events locally and nationally.

Through our monthly meetings and educational programs, the section provides a value-packed, quality encounter by drawing upon the abundant resources from our community of high-profile lighting professionals and national speaking resources. Our monthly meetings are as diverse as our membership; there is something for everyone. Our various educational programs offer introductory material for the beginners, as well as advanced materials for those with a deeper foundation illuminating engineering. The programs allow you to acquire Continuing Education credits for Professional Engineers in NC, and for the LC and CLEP programs.

Section Officers 2023-2024

  • President: Mai C. Zakerin, LiteSource
  • Vice President: Katherine Hershey, SESCO Lighting
  • Secretary: Tracy Van Auken, Dewberry
  • Treasurer: Kelly Cox, Apogee Consulting Group

Board Members 2023-2024

  • Leah Robinson, Pivotal Lighting Design

Chairs 2023-2024

  • Education Chair: Greg Johnson, Loring Consulting Engineers
  • Programs Chair: Katherine Hershey, SESCO Lighting
  • Membership Chair: Michael Younts, Dewberry
  • Emerging Professionals Chair: Brittany Harrell, SESCO Lighting
  • Communication Chair: Open – Apply Here
  • Web Admin Chair: Open – Apply Here
  • Newsletter Chair: Leah Robinson, Pivotal Lighting Design
  • Illumination Awards Chair: Open – Apply Here
  • Sponsorships Chair: Kelly Cox, Apogee Consulting Group
  • Nominations Chair: Leah Robinson, Pivotal Lighting Design

Upcoming Events